2017 A+W NZ Dulux Awards

A+W•NZ DULUX AWARDS 2017  -  Awards Dinner held on 26 August 2017, 7:00pm.

And what a night it was!

Fifteen architects / Practices were honoured at the awards event held in Wellington at the City Gallery on Saturday 26 August 2017. A fantastic crowd gathered to celebrate the depth of talent in this award round. 

The winners of the three categories were;

ArchitectureNow has announced the winners in their article on the awards.

The September / October 2017 issue of architecturenz covers the fifteen finalists and three winners, pp 24-32.

An awards publication was placed on the tables at the end of the night for all attendees to take home. 

More photos of the wonderful evening, taken by Elise Cautley, can be seen here.

You can see many, many more images of the A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2017 evening here.


The FIVE FINALISTS for the Wirihana Leadership Award;
(in alphabetical order)
Bureaux Ltd (Jessica Barter and Maggie Carroll)
Mary Henry (Jasmax)
Natasha Markham (MAUD)
Rogan Nash (Kate Rogan and Eva Nash)
Sophie Wylie (Artifact)

The FIVE FINALISTS for the Munro Diversity Award;
(in alphabetical order)
Dorita Hannah (University of Tasmania)
Jane Hill (Chow: Hill)
Jade Kake (Te Matapihi he tirohangi mo te Iwi Trust)
Gillian Macleod & Jackie Gillies (MH Gillian Macleod & Origin Consultants)
Lindley Naismith (Scarlet Architects)

The FIVE FINALISTS for the Chrystall Excellence Award;
(in alphabetical order)
Jane Aimer and Lindley Naismith (Scarlet Architects)
Clare Athfield (Athfield Architects)
Megan Edwards (Megan Edwards Architects)
Briar Green (Pearson and Associates)
Sarah Treadwell (retired, The University of Auckland)

A+W•NZ Dulux Award Dates:

  • Nominations Close:  Thursday 22 June 2017, 6pm
  • Finalists Announced: Tuesday 25 July 2017
  • Awards Function:      Saturday, 26 August 2017  


We are very pleased to announce our Jury for the upcoming A+W•NZ Dulux Awards 2017;

Brit AndresenEmeritus Professor, UQ, Andresen O'Gorman Architects, RAIA.
Sharon JansenSharon Jansen Architect, FNZIA NZRAB
Dave StrachanSGA, FNZIA, NZRAB


  1. Entries are by nomination or self-nomination, made via email to [email protected]. (Links to the 2017 A+WNZ Dulux Awards nomination can be found by clicking on the award categories above.)
  2. Nominees are notified of their entry into an award category. Any additional information required is collected from nominee/nominator by the A+W•NZ Dulux Awards 2017 team.
  3. The Jury select Five Finalists from all nominations in each category, all who are celebrated at the A+WNZ Dulux Awards 2017 Dinner Function, to be held on Saturday 26 August 2017, 7:30pm, in Wellington.
  4. From these Five Finalists, one Winner in each category is selected and is announced at the Awards Dinner. Each Finalist receives a certificate, and each Winner receives a beautiful cast glass sculpture made by Ainsley O'Connell.

A+WNZ Dulux Award 2017 Dates:
Nominations Close:   Thursday 22 June 2017, 6pm

Finalists Announced: Tuesday 25 July 2017

Awards Function:      Saturday, 26 August 2017, 7pm

Venue:                         City Gallery, Civic Square, Wellington

Tickets:                      $97.50 each

                                     $700.00  Table of Eight

Tickets available at Evenbrite

You can download a general information brochure for the A+W•NZ Dulux Awards 2017 here.

You can download the Nomination Forms for each category here:

Form A (Chrystall Excellence Award),

Form B (Wirihana Leadership Award),

Form C (Munro Diversity Award)

The A+WNZ Dulux Awards support both of the two main aims of this non-profit organisation: visibility and inclusiveness. We are committed to removing as many barriers as possible for as many people as possible, and the awards are structured to lessen the usual reasons that awards are not entered by those active in the field of architecture.

How are the A+W•NZ Dulux Awards different from the many other (excellent) awards programmes?

  1. Entry to the A+W•NZ Dulux Awards is via nominiation or self-nomination - this circumvents the typical 'modesty' barrier which often prevents entries to awards, as well as providing opportunities to be generous to our peers, mentors and colleagues.
  2. Entry is free
  3. The workload associated with awards entries is lessened via the nomination process and online entry
  4. The A+W•NZ Dulux Awards celebrate 'bodies of work', rather than single architectural objects
  5. Eligibility includes groups as well as individuals 
  6. The A+W•NZ Dulux Awards are held triennially, not annually.

Below is a list of A+W•NZ members who are NOT elligible for the 2017 A+W•NZ Dulux Awards, due to current or past involvement with the Incorporated Society which may be perceived as a conflict of interest (note that some may become eligible in 2020, after 'standing down' for at least one award cycle);

Lynda Simmons

Elisapeta Heta

Nicole Allan

Divya Purushotham

Anner Chong

Sukshma Paranjpe

Kitty Fan

Rebecca Green

Lauren Speer

Hannah Sharp

Megan Rule

Julie Wilson

Christina van Bohemen

Ainsley O'Connell

Marianne Calvelo 

Peggy Russell 

Ariana Pia 

Kirsty Jones 

Bridget Lensen

Emily Batchelor

Siran Li

Jane Rooney 

Chloe Coles 

Brita Corbett

Anne Salmond

Kathy Waghorn

Raukura Turei