A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2017

3 June 2017

The awards celebration held on Saturday 26 August 2017, at the City Gallery in Wellington was a warm and celebratory evening.

Fifteen architects / practices were honoured during the event, with three winners (one in each award category) announced. They are as follows;

more photos from the A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2017 event can be seen here...

Every attendee received a complimentary copy of the A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2017 book, which records all of the Fifteen Finalists. You can purchase a copy via our website (look for the button at the top of the page) or from Aalto Books.

$40 per copy.

Publication designed by Studio Catherine Griffiths. Printed by CMYK, posters by Index.


The FIVE FINALISTS for the Wirihana Leadership Award; (in alphabetical order)
Bureaux Ltd (Jessica Barter and Maggie Carroll)
Mary Henry (Jasmax)
Natasha Markham (MAUD)
Rogan Nash (Kate Rogan and Eva Nash)
Sophie Wylie (Artifact)

The FIVE FINALISTS for the Munro Diversity Award; (in alphabetical order)
Dorita Hannah (University of Tasmania)
Jane Hill (Chow: Hill)
Jade Kake (Te Matapihi he tirohangi mo te Iwi Trust)
Gillian Macleod & Jackie Gillies (MH Gillian Macleod & Origin Consultants)
Lindley Naismith (Scarlet Architects)

The FIVE FINALISTS for the Chrystall Excellence Award; (in alphabetical order)
Jane Aimer and Lindley Naismith (Scarlet Architects)
Clare Athfield (Athfield Architects)
Megan Edwards (Megan Edwards Architects)
Briar Green (Pearson and Associates)
Sarah Treadwell (retired, The University of Auckland)


A+W•NZ DULUX AWARDS 2017  -  Awards Dinner to be held on 26 August 2017, 7:00pm.


Nominations have closed. 

Finalists have been announced. (25/7/17 -See them here).

A+W•NZ Award Dates:

  • Nominations Close:  Thursday 22 June 2017, 6pm
  • Finalists Announced: Tuesday 25 July 2017
  • Awards Function:      Saturday, 26 August 2017  

The A+W•NZ Awards are held every three years, with the inaugural Awards held in 2014 and the second round of the Awards programme being held this year, 2017. The A+W•NZ Awards foster the generosity that exists in New Zealand's architectural community, and seeks to highlight those whose excellent work is sometimes unseen. The Awards reward 'bodies of work', rather than single architectural objects, an area already so well served by the many excellent award programmes that already exist.

Tickets available on Eventbrite.

The A+W•NZ Awards have three award categories, 

the Chrystall Excellence Award - celebrating the full and rich career of a female in the field of architecture

the Wirihana Leadership Award - celebrating a developing career for females in their second decade after graduation,

the Munro Diversity Award - celebrating those who work hard to support diversity in the field of architecture


We are very pleased to announce our Jury for the upcoming A+W•NZ Dulux Awards 2017;

Brit AndresenEmeritus Professor, UQ, Andresen O'Gorman Architects, RAIA.
Sharon JansenSharon Jansen Architect, FNZIA NZRAB
Dave StrachanSGA, FNZIA, NZRAB

The FIFTEEN FINALISTS have been announced - you can see who they are here.