A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2020 - Online Event

16 August 2020

The A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2020 were held online for the first time, in a free event held via zoom on Saturday 15 August 2020, starting at 7pm NZ time. This is the third round in our triennial awards programme, with the inaugural Awards event held in Auckland in September 2014 and the 2017 event held in Wellington.

The effects of the Covid-19 pandemic in early 2020 meant the cancellation or postponement of so many events globally, as well as in Aotearoa New Zealand. A+W NZ resisted both options for the 2020 awards, instead taking the opportunity to explore an online delivery of our awards event. We are hugely grateful to our awards sponsor, Dulux, who continued to support us in this experiment and during these difficult and unpredictable times.

We are very pleased that presenting online has increased access for so many – we have reached a global as well as national audience (if the time differences were bearable), and the free platform with no travel costs meant that more of our non-waged members and students than could attend. Holding the A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2020 online is in keeping with the spirit of A+W NZ as a responsive and agile organisation, and we hope to keep these positive outcomes in future awards celebrations.

The A+W NZ Dulux Awards programme has three award categories, recognising Leadership, Diversity and Excellence. It highlights full bodies of work and community connection, rather than single architectural projects.

The zoom webinar event was opened by 2020 jury member Raukura Turei (Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki, Ngā Rauru Kītahi) with waiata tautoko by partner Mokonuiarangi Smith (Rangiwewehi, Te Roro-o-te-Rangi, Rongowhakāta) and their daughter. A+W NZ Co-Chairs Divya Purushotham and Lindley Naismith introduced the sponsor and the 2020 Jury before moving into the three award category announcements.

The online platform allowed the wider A+W NZ team to be made visible, with each citation read by a different team member. Lindley used the languages of our core awards team to say welcome - Kia orana, Mabuhay, Ayubowan, Vanakam, Nihao, Dobre Dojdovte and Saludos, acknowledging who we are as a core team.   

At each winner announcement, we crossed live to the winner for their wonderful responses.

You can view the recorded event on our facebook page, the link will be posted here shortly.

Thank you to everyone involved in this A+W NZ Dulux Award round.

Watch the full video here (83:12 mins)

(Note: Dropbox allows only 60mins streaming, download the video to watch the full event.)

You can view the Wirihana Leadership Award winner announcement clip from the full video here.

You can visit the Munro Diversity Award winner announcement clip from the full video here.

You can view the Chrystall Excellence Award winner announcement clip from the full video here.

And here is how our audience shared the evening with us - Julie Stout watching and celebrating from home;

image: Julie Stout, 15 August 2020


The Fifteen Finalists celebrated at the awards on 15 August 2020;

Congratulations to the FIVE FINALISTS for the Wirihana Leadership Award;
(in alphabetical order)

Natalie Allen (The Urban Advisory)
Felicity Brenchley (Felicity Brenchley Architects + ĀKAU)
Ilona Haghshenas (Warren and Mahoney)
Fiona Short (Warren and Mahoney)
Louise Wright (Assembly Architects)
This award category is growing strongly each award round, and was reported by the jury as the most time-consuming in terms of deliberations. The category aims to highlight female leaders in their second decade (+) beyond graduation, an important stage that research shows is most highly-impacted for females in terms of career-progression.

Congratulations to the FIVE FINALISTS for the Munro Diversity Award;
(in alphabetical order)
Jade Kake (Matakohe Architecture + Urbanism)
Katherine Skipper (Warren and Mahoney)
Julie Wilson

We are very proud of the Munro Diversity Award category, which is believed to be the only award of this kind in New Zealand. We are well aware of the huge amount of invisible work that goes into supporting the many and varied sectors of the architectural community, and this award celebrates those working hard to make architecture more inclusive, in many and various ways.

A+W NZ Dulux Awards 2020 Finalists Chrystall Excellence

Thank you to all Nominees and Nominators for this award category, which recognises excellence in a body of work, leadership and contribution to the community through mentorship.

Well Done to all of the Finalists.

Well done, too, to all the Nominees - it is wonderful to see the generosity of the wider profession in putting forward their colleagues in the nomination process. As mentioned, each award round attracts more nominees, making the job more difficult for the Jury. We hope to see you all again in some way, involved in this awards process again in 2023.

And a very big thank you from A+W NZ goes to the hard-working Jury for 2020, this is a huge time committment and we are very grateful for your generosity and expertise.


A+W NZ Dulux Awrds 2020 Team;

Divya Purushotham, Lindley Naismith, Lynda Simmons, Kitty Fan, Ornela Priotti, Theja Jayalath, Wing Chan, Blagica Maneva, Natasha Baumgartner, Ysabelle Empiso, Vanessa Coxhead.